A THS Exclusive: This is the State of Formula Drift


Jim LiawThe Formula Drift series starts its tenth season this weekend in Long Beach. That is a phenomenal story that isn’t reviewed enough. The two co-founders, Jim Liaw and Ryan Sage, had the vision in 2003 and, with the help of many loyal lieutenants, they built a global brand redefining motor sport for millions. This year we continue our State of Formula Drift conversations with Liaw including a look at the changing demographic seen in the Formula Drift paddock. Included now are families  both in the grandstands and in the pits. Yes, the Formula Drift teams are getting older and that’s a good thing.

In fact, we also talk with two drivers who’ve grown into team owners and event winners in the last ten years. Tyler McQuarrie and Conrad Grunewald this year will work to bring an IndyCar driver to Drift competition as the sport continues to grow globally. Here’s the State of Formula Drift. TRT: 41:38

Leave a Reply